Follow

Administration > Drivers > Driving teams

A driving team is sometimes used in long haulage. Team drivers will take the wheel in turns, in order to keep a truck rolling with as few interruptions as possible and without forcing drivers to work beyond the maximum recommendable periods and/or allowed by law.

In the team, one of the elements will be the designated driver whilst the other will take the co-driver seat until his/her turn to drive comes. Both drivers drive in turns. While one drives, the other rests.

This method allows the vehicle to be driven with as few interruptions as possible, always insuring that the maximum allowed driving time is not exceeded.

In Frotcom, you are able to specify that your company uses driving teams. Once you do this, you will be able to associate two drivers to a vehicle, which will be reflected in several functionalities in Frotcom, including the activity reports.

You can also remove a driver from a driving team and go back to the solo driver model, at any moment.

Switching drivers in a team (driver to co-driver and vice versa) can be done automatically – through any form of automatic driver ID; or manually

  • Establish the use of driving teams

To specify that your company will be using driving team, go to Administrator > Account > Driving Conditions and edit the Allow the use of driving teams on the Drivers and Coupling subsection to Yes.

By default, this options is set to No. Once you do this, you will be able to specify teams of two drivers per vehicle, instead of only a solo driver

  • Associating drivers in a team

To create a team of drivers, you must associate both to the same vehicle. Go to Administrator > Vehicles, and select the vehicle. Then go to Administrator > Vehicles > General, to the Association subsection and select the names of both driver and co-driver:

 The driver is the person who takes the wheel at the moment. The co-driver seats with the driver but waits his/her turn to go behind the wheel. 

  • Switching drivers in a team

NOTE: this feature will be released shortly. 

  • Disassembling a team

A team can be disassembled manually or automatically.

If you want to disassemble a driving team in Frotcom manually, simply remove the driver or the co-driver from the team. You can do this in several ways:

Location Image Action
Administration > Vehicles > General

Select an empty content for the co-driver.

If after your modifications, only the co-driver is left, he/she will be transferred to the driver's seat (become the Driver) automatically.
Administration > Vehicles > General If you select for one vehicle a driver or co-driver currently in another team in a different vehicle, you will disassemble that other team.
Administration > Drivers > General

You can also disassemble a team by selecting another vehicle for a driver or co-driver, in the details of the driver/co-driver.

Again, if only the co-driver is left, he/she will be transferred to the driver's seat (become the Driver), as you can see if you open again the details of the vehicle. 

The team will be automatically disassembled if the driver ID for the driver or co-driver is received in Frotcom's Data Center in association to a vehicle which is not the original where the team was. This can happen in one of the following ways:

  1. The driver or co-driver uses his/her RFID card in the RFR-1 reader installed in a vehicle other than the original one where the team was;
  2. The driver or co-driver uses his/her iButton identifier in the iButton probe installed in a vehicle other than the original one where the team was;
  3. The driver or co-driver puts his/her tachograph card in the driver slot of the tachograph of a vehicle other than the original one where the team was;
  4. The driver or co-driver identifies himself/herself as driver through a Workforce Management terminal associated to a vehicle other than the original one where the team was.

To know more about Automatic driver identification, click here

  • Editing the drivers in a team

When a vehicle includes a team of drivers instead of a solo driver, the context menu will allow you to edit one or the other. For this, select the vehicle on the map, click on the Actions button and the following drop down list will be available to you:

 

In case you need additional clarification, please contact your Frotcom Certified Partner. You can find the contacts of the Frotcom Certified Partners here.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk